According to the law of the State of Rhode Island, medicinal cannabis has the status of a legal drug. It is available to all patients who need it as the main or supportive therapy. Weed can relieve a lot of symptoms. Today, state policy is to provide access to medical cannabis to all patients who need it.
Members of the MMJ Rhode-Island program are exempted from administrative and criminal prosecution for grass ownership. They can legally buy cannabis through a dispensary. If they are physically unable to do this, they appoint a guardian who will have the right to buy weed.
As for recreational weed, it is illegal in the state, although its use is decriminalized. Possession of marijuana in an amount up to 1 ounce entails a fine, and criminal prosecution is not carried out. That’s why patients should get a card to buy and store weed in large quantities and to have constant unlimited access to it.
Rhode Island Patient Conditions
Every adult in the state can get a medical marijuana card on Rhode Island. A document should confirm the fact of residence. Also, one of the diagnoses should be confirmed by your doctor:
- Strong muscle cramps
- Crohn’s disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- HIV / AIDS
- Hepatitis C
- Severe, debilitating, chronic pain
- severe nausea
- PTSD (18 years or older)
Also, a participant in medical cannabis in the state of Rhode Island has the right to grow up to 12 flowering plants and up to 12 bushes at the vegetative stage. But for this, you need to submit an official statement of intention to grow, indicating the place of cultivation.
Doctors Conditions in Rhode Island
Licensed Physicians (MD / DOs), Medical Assistants (PAs), and Registered Nurses (APRNs) are legally allowed to write permission to receive a Rhode Island medical cannabis card. At the same time, Doctors (MD / DO) can be licensed not only in Rhode Island but also in Connecticut or Massachusetts. Every doctor has the right to issue a permit on the territory of Rhode Island, subject to confirmation of a diagnosis that requires treatment with medical weed.
How to legally buy medical marijuana in Rhode Island
The Rhode Island MMJ Card gives you the right to carry up to 2.5 ounces of dry marijuana legally. One patient who has a medical cannabis card can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in 15 days through specialized dispensaries. The trading infrastructure in the state is developing quite intensively, so if you wish, you will find a suitable dispensary near your home or office.
How do I renew my Rhode Island marijuana health card?
The RJMMJ card is valid for 1 year after activation. It is recommended to apply for an extension 30 days before the expiration date. For updating the card, you will have to pay as much as for opening it – only 199 US dollars. However, patients who need a caregiver do not pay a fee.