Licensed Contractor

How to Become a Licensed Contractor in Wisconsin

Working as a contractor in the United States requires you to obtain an appropriate license for a craft. Any United States citizen or legal resident over 18 years with a high school diploma or equivalent qualification can apply for the license.

The work experience and education requirement for a contractor license vary from state to state in the country. Some states allow you to apply directly for certain kinds of contractor licenses without any prerequisites, while other licenses require you to complete certain classroom work hours from a certified organization.

The state of Wisconsin has its own sets of rules for issuing contractor licenses. Depending on the type of contractor license you apply for, the rules are very specific. If you are applying for a Wisconsin dwelling contractor license, you have to meet the criteria.

Pick the right license

You can apply for a Dwelling Contractor License or a Dwelling Contractor Qualifier license offered by the state of Wisconsin. While it is possible to just apply for one of them, for building permits for a business you will require to possess both of them.

The qualifier license is the one that identifies you as an individual and requires you to complete classroom hours and have work experience. The dwelling contractor license is attached to your business and does not require any classroom hours. You can get the latter one by just filling a form and paying the fee. However, you should make getting your qualifier license a priority, as in many cases, the qualifier license is required to apply for a dwelling contractor license.

How to apply for Dwelling Contractor Qualifier License

Before you can take the test for the Wisconsin dwelling contractor qualifier license, you must complete a 12-hour course through a certified education provider as outlined by the state of Wisconsin. There are many online course providers, but preparation for a WI dwelling contractor license with WIContractorTraining is easiest. They offer the highest quality state-approved continuing education courses that cover best business practices, construction laws, and Wisconsin-specific codes and laws.

Once you pass the test, all you have to do to get your dwelling contractor qualifier license is to attach your passing certificate with the completed application and payment and send it to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.

Dwelling Contractor and Dwelling Contractor Qualifier License Renewal 

The dwelling contractor license has to be renewed each year for a standard fee of $25. There is an option to renew the dwelling contractor license for more than one year at a time. You can renew it for 4 years by paying a $100 renewal fee.

The dwelling contractor qualifier license is renewed every 2 years and requires you to complete a 12-hour educational course. After completing the course, you are required to send the course completion certificate along with the required fee to the state of Wisconsin.

Both the licenses are stamped with the date they become effective. The state of Wisconsin also mails reminder cards 3 months before the renewal date.

This is all the information you need to know to apply for your Wisconsin dweller contractor license and dweller contractor qualifier license.

About Ambika Taylor

Myself Ambika Taylor. I am admin of For any business query, you can contact me at [email protected]